Charlie Marshall & The Curious Minds


A bold concept album that fuses music, science and nature.

Charlie Marshall & The Curious Minds - Sublime

Melbourne singer, songwriter and science enthusiast Charlie Marshall is proud to release the new album Sublime. The culmination of several years of intense musical experimentation in his laboratory of song. Sublime is a concept album in the finest sense. A singular fusion of music, science, philosophy and politics extolling the wonders of the universe and our urgent need to take more care of this planet.

With the masterfull assistance of former Avalanches virtuoso Darren Seltmann on the mixing desk, skilled new band The Curious Minds, and a bevy of talented guest musicians, Charlie has sculpted a dazzling array of sounds into a dramatic sonic canvas that highlights his distinctive, intelligent lyrics. Side one is subtitled ‘Physics’, side two is ‘Ecology’. Try imagining a Pet Sounds era Brian Wilson collaborating with the BBC’s contemporary rock star scientist Brian Cox and you might get some idea of what to expect from this ambitious work.

Charlie Marshall has been the guitar-slinging backbone for many of Melbourne’s finest bands over the past four decades starting with much loved Harem Scarem in the 1980s whose stellar lineup included brother Chris, bluesman Chris Wilson, Barry Palmer (Hunters and Collectors) and Peter Jones (Crowded House among others). Together they were a dynamite force performing songs in the key of punk blues with a ferocity unlike many others. In the 90s he moved into indie rock terrain with The Body Electric and a dream team of band members - Jim White and Warren Ellis from The Dirty Three, and Brian Hooper from Beasts Of Bourbon. Later Body Electric lineups featured an incredible pedigree of members of legendary outfits The Avalanches, Silver Ray, Moodists and Dumb Earth. The Body Electric retrospective album ‘Won’t give up’, released last year, coincided with the emotional reformation of the original lineup for a sell-out launch in Melbourne.

To bring his latest sonic vision to life Charlie has drawn together another finely drilled group of respected musicians. The Curious Minds comprises Clare Moore (Dave Graney ‘n the Coral Snakes) on drums, Bryan Colechin (The Body Electric, Hugo Race True Spirit) on bass, Tim Deane (Ron Peno & the Superstitions) – keyboards and Andrew Watson (Slow Dissolve) on violin. The new album also features a bevy of talented guest musicians including Jack Howard (Hunters and Collectors) on trumpet and flugelhorn, Ghanian percussionist Kofi Kunkpe, Shane Reilly (Tex Perkins, Matt Walker) - pedal steel, Troy Rogan - cello, James Macauley - trombone, Flip Case and Emily Hayes – vocals.

The album was made with funding assistance from Creative Victoria and the cover features an original commissioned painting by Canberra artist Tommy Balogh and images from the Hubble space telescope.